Old Log Church

Old Log Church, Schellsburg PA

 

HomeHistoryGeneologyEventsVisitingPhotosLinksContact Us
 

Welcome

 

Two hundred years ago, a German named John Schell, moved westward from the early settlements in eastern Pennsylvania to purchase a large tract of land nine miles west of Bedford. Schell brought his family and friends to this unsettled land and being a very religious man donated about six acres of land for the purpose of building a church. In 1806, settlers of the German Reformed and Lutheran faith built a log structure to serve as their place of worship. Later in the 19th century the log structure had siding put over the logs. After the church was completed, Schell “laid out” the town of Schellsburg, Pennsylvania in 1807. To learn more about the history of the “Old Log Church” click on the history page.

Although the log pews are no longer in the church there are some wonderful straight back pine pews that allow for very uncomfortable seating! The wine glass pulpit is a unique architectural detail probably related to the Eucharistic cup. Take a “walking” tour of the church and cemetery by clicking on the photos page. To visit the church click on the visiting page.

Nearly 200 years later the "Old Log Church," as residents have come to refer to the church, was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in January of 2005.

In June of 2006, descendants, friends, and residents of present day Schellsburg will gather on Saturday the 24th and Sunday the 25th for a Bicentennial Celebration. For a listing of the Bicentennial Celebration events, go to the events page.